The state of Indiana has strict regulations when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. The official term used in Indiana is operating while intoxicated (OWI), but some people still use DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol) and DWI (driving while intoxicated) to refer to drunk or drugged driving. For non-commercial drivers, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent. Commercial drivers must maintain a BAC of less than 0.04 and drivers under the age of 21 must maintain a BAC of less than 0.02. If a driver's BAC is 0.15 percent or higher, they will be charged with a drunk driving offense in Indiana.
Indiana intellectual property laws also prohibit people from operating any motor vehicle with any amount of Schedule I or II controlled substances in their system. This includes ATVs, snowmobiles, scooters, and even bicycles. If a person is convicted of drunk driving in the last seven years, or if they are over 21 years old and have a passenger under 18 years of age with them in the vehicle, they can be charged with a level 6 felony under Indiana DUI laws. This means that law enforcement has a likely reason to stop them and investigate a possible DUI if they fail to comply with this law.
In a non-jury trial in Indiana, a judge will act as an investigator and review the evidence and arguments presented by the parties and will ultimately make the decision as to whether you are innocent or guilty of a DUI. The Indiana State Police and the “Operation Pullover” program are actively working together to enforce DUI laws in all 92 counties of Indiana.